I always ask for pre-payment, which bemuses some domestic clients, who instead offer cash on the day. They are then further bemused when I ask for cash on arrival and I have to explain why. In future I shall use this example to illustrate my point;

A recent domestic booking promised me cash on the day, saying it was easier for them, to which I agreed. Upon the day I asked for my fee and was fobbed off with “see me before you go” which is already breach of agreement. I completed my set and was asked (by a drunk client) to wait while they withdrew cash at an ATM, which took a further 30 minutes. The client then claimed poverty and offered me a small cash sum, substantially less than my agreed fee. Second breach of agreement. I had no option than to agree and leave the event.

I had to wait three days for an email from the client, which demanded that I draw two more people before they would release payment. Despite having fulfilled my contract and remained polite and professional, I was still being held to ransom! I still await payment.

This is precisely why I ask for pre-payment before I lift a pen at any engagement.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.